Everything Unwinds

October

sent a

greeting card,

two words,

“Everything unwinds.”

November followed

nicely

with a softer sentiment:

“We thought you knew,”

and so I wasn’t

altogether

stunned when

December

blustered

across

my threshold

(wiping fresh snow flurries

from his shoulders,

quickly packing away

the kerchief he swathed

his nose with)

and said

“I’m here again,”

his smile unmirrored

as I stared in slate-gray

confusion

at his semi-sunny rictus.

Everything Unwinds

Tell me what you're thinking

