Tonight Comes Alone

I’m scared again

because tonight comes alone

without you.

I am alone

with me

tonight providing mute company,

not answering as I stare into his infinity pools.

 

Looking into the dark our eyes see nothing

but still they see forever.

 

This night I saw forever,

a forever where nothing changes

and no reunion sprouts in tomorrow’s dirt,

a forever where tonight keeps coming alone

offering deaf devoid condolences, facsimiles of failure;

a forever where nothing converges

where everything disconnects

and my legs are always running never arriving;

a forever without home,

a forever without the redemption of your eyes and arms and heart

because tonight came alone,

and I felt lonely.

Tonight Comes Alone

Tell me what you're thinking

