little dots in the pudding darkness

You connected the dots

for me, drawing

pictures

in the illumined

sea above.

Lights took shape

as my strained

neck opened

gaps in

roadside brambles

letting my eyes

feast on the sky’s

pulsing condensation

while your

ever-handy heart

led me through

a picture book

whose illustrations

our thoughts provided

captions for.

I knew us

in this moment

we shared

and I wanted

nothing more

than to pluck that

icy dot

(though I know it burns)

from the pudding sky

and hold it out to you,

another moment

for our minds to illustrate.

little dots in the pudding darkness

One thought on “little dots in the pudding darkness

Tell me what you're thinking

