roadside dandelions

We kicked roadside dandelions

and watched their wispy whites

float, tiny tendrils evaporating

across the distance between us

and them while we drew closer

and you picked a flower for me

that I put in my pocket and found

later, an emblem of our joy as

I sit, my arm around your shoulder

riverside as November tries to

move us along and I wish for

nothing beside this perfection’s

elongation as I sideways look

at your face, wondering what

you have thought, are thinking,

will think, knowing our thoughts

may be joined or a thousand

miles away though we are right

here and nowhere else, leaves

coating fall’s departing ground

in shades of soft security.

roadside dandelions

Tell me what you're thinking

